So Yesterday…

…I deleted my Facebook. A bit drastic but it’s something that I’ve been thinking about for months and, I’ve deactivated a few times, but that wasn’t enough.

Facebook has been a part of our lives now for six, maybe seven years and for almost everyone, it’s a huge part of our lives. But recently, whenever I went on Facebook, it felt like it had just turned into a site where we could brag about things and get attention, or even rub it in that we’re doing better than others. Not to mention the fact that, Facebook is great for when you’re incredibly drunk and you want to check out the ex partner/friend or estranged family etc and, we all know that is not healthy.

It did feel a bit weird this morning waking up and not checking Facebook, but I still think it’s for the best. I’m not even sure if anyone of my friends have really noticed yet either. That to me means one of two things; firstly, that if your friends don’t even notice, then clearly no one is even paying attention to you in the first place, so why do you need Facebook? Secondly, for me it means that I’ve done the right thing, because obviously my real friends will know how to get hold of me through other methods. And for those people who aren’t really friends, won’t miss me and I won’t miss them.

They say it takes three days to make a habit and twenty one days to break a habit. So here’s hoping that in twenty one days time I will have broken this habit!

Leave a Reply

