Reading.

This may be a bit long winded, but bare with me, I do have a point to this.

First of all Happy St. Patrick’s Day! Glad I’m Irish, even if it’s only a quarter Irish! 🙂

Secondly, I’ve been ill with scarlet fever recently. Hence my silence and my not drinking tonight – stupid antibiotics!

As I’ve been ill, my diet has sort of been ignored. Obviously you lose weight when you’re ill anyway, but you always gain some of that back. As I still get tired really easily at the moment, I’ve been struggling to exercise like I would normally. So today I decided to try my exercise bike again.

Now my brother moved out about a month ago so his room has now turned into my second room. It has one of my bookcases in, my bike and, other things we needed to make room for.

main_kindle_480

When I was on my bike, I was looking through all my books and I was just amazed by how many memories are on that bookcase. Every book I looked at reminded me of a different time of my life. For example, when I saw The Drinker by Hans Fallada, it instantly took me back to the day it was bought, my mood when I read it, what I was going through at that time. The same can be said for The Great Gatsby or for To Kill A Mockingbird.

I guess what I’m trying to say is I’ll always prefer a book to a Kindle because every book I own has a memory and every time I look at it, it reminds me of who I was when I first read it, my mood at the time, what I was doing and so on. You will never get that with a Kindle. I pick my Kindle up and it reminds me of when my boyfriend, now fiancé, bought it me and, then it makes me want Frankie & Benny’s, but that’s it. Don’t get me wrong, when I think about it, I can associate other memories with it, but it’s not as effortless as just looking at a bookcase.

Leave a Reply

