Japan and the Whales.

Now I don’t know much about this topic but I’ve heard that Japan has accepted a court ban on Whaling?

Apparently Japan was ordered by the United Nation’s International Court to stop it’s whaling in the Antarctic. From what I’ve read this case dates back to 2010 and was brought against them by Australia. Originally, Tokyo had claimed that it was for scientific research but have now accepted that it wasn’t and, was basically commercial whaling in disguise.

Like I said, I don’t know much about this. But to me, it sounds like a victory for whales. Maybe they’ll stop hunting dolphins next – one can hope.

japan_whaling_090312

I understand that some Japanese feel this is an attempt to enforce western ideals on them. I’d like to think that it’s not a case of that, but rather a case of doing what is right for our wildlife and protecting them. It is about giving them the rights they deserve.

The right to not be hunted. The right to be free. The right to live in the oceans of our world and not in captivity.

I’m sorry that I don’t have more information than what I do. I hope that this does inform you a little bit of something that you didn’t know what was happening.

Here’s to more stories like this.

Leave a Reply

