Fact of the day: 3rd May

On this day in 1915 the poem In Flanders Fields was written by Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae.

“In Flanders Fields” is a war poem in the form of a rondeau, written during the First World War by Canadian physician Lieutenant Colonel John McCrae.

He was inspired to write it on May 3, 1915, after presiding over the funeral of friend and fellow soldier Alexis Helmer, who died in the Second Battle of Ypres.

According to legend, fellow soldiers retrieved the poem after McCrae, initially dissatisfied with his work, discarded it. “In Flanders Fields” was first published on December 8 of that year in the London-based magazine Punch.

download (26)

It is one of the most popular and most quoted poems from the war. As a result of its immediate popularity, parts of the poem were used in propaganda efforts and appeals to recruit soldiers and raise money selling war bonds.

Its references to the red poppies that grew over the graves of fallen soldiers resulted in the remembrance poppy becoming one of the world’s most recognized memorial symbols for soldiers who have died in conflict.

The poem and poppy are prominent Remembrance Day symbols throughout the Commonwealth of Nations, particularly in Canada, where “In Flanders Fields” is one of the nation’s best known literary works.

19 thoughts on “Fact of the day: 3rd May

  1. Howdy! Would you mind if I share your blog with my facebook
    group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really
    appreciate your content. Please let me know. Many thanks

  2. Thanks for your personal marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it, you might be a great author.
    I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will eventually come back sometime soon. I want to encourage one to continue your
    great work, have a nice holiday weekend!

  3. I’m amazed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the
    head. The issue is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I stumbled across this during my search for something regarding this.

  4. Heya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I
    find It really useful & it helped me out a lot.
    I hope to give something back and aid others like you helped
    me.

  5. Hmm it seems like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I had written and
    say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but
    I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any recommendations for newbie blog writers?

    I’d certainly appreciate it.

  6. An intriguing discussion is definitely worth comment. I think that you ought
    to write more about this issue, it may not be a taboo matter but typically people do not speak about these
    subjects. To the next! Cheers!!

  7. Greetings from Los angeles! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out
    your website on my iphone during lunch break.
    I love the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get
    home. I’m shocked at how quick your blog
    loaded on my phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G ..
    Anyways, fantastic site!

  8. Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your webpage?
    My website is in the exact same niche as yours and my visitors would definitely benefit
    from a lot of the information you provide here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Appreciate
    it!

  9. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was great. I don’t know who you are but definitely you’re going to a famous blogger if you are not already πŸ˜‰ Cheers!

  10. I seriously love your site.. Very nice colors & theme. Did you build this
    web site yourself? Please reply back as I’m planning to create my very own blog and would like to know where you got this
    from or exactly what the theme is named. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

