Rest in peace Robin Williams.

Last night we heard that the iconic actor, Robin Williams, has passed away.

I don’t know about you, but when I heard the news – well I didn’t believe it. I thought it was a hoax and people had got it wrong. Then I googled it and realised it was true.

To be honest, I’m still in shock. I just can’t understand how he can be gone. An actor that shaped my childhood and has made me laugh since I was four years old, has died.

He was an actor that everybody loved and respected. He touched everyone. His films brought families together. download (1)

And unbeknownst to us all, he was suffering from depression. If we can take anything from this, it is that you can have everything in the world and still be unhappy. My ex used to always say that money bought happiness. This is prove that it doesn’t.

I cannot begin to imagine what his family is going through right now. I shed tears over his death and, I don’t cry very often, so I’ve no idea how their even beginning to cope with this.

But if we can take anything from Robin Williams, maybe we should learn that you shouldn’t be ashamed to ask for help and that depression effects EVERYONE. You are not weak and it is nothing to be ashamed off.

ef602f5ecde865ad1f52f97b6d424470I think also we should remember Robin Williams for his films and for the great comedic actor that he was. We shouldn’t let his illness taint the work he did. Regardless of what happened at the end, he spent his life making us happy and making us laugh.

Rest in peace Robin Williams. You were a great actor. I hope you’re happy wherever you are now.

x

4 thoughts on “Rest in peace Robin Williams.

  1. Well said. He was a rare genius. He had been struggling with both addiction and depression for a long time and had been in and out of rehab. He did attempt to get help but I have a feeling that he was feeling his age and for his kind of work, a slowed down brain that struggles to make those fast connections is tough to witness, especially in one’s self. I will definitely miss him and will go on a binge watching all of his movies in the next month.

Leave a Reply

