Moving on…

For those of you don’t know, I recently got out of a seven year relationship. A relationship, that in all honesty, had been over for a very long time. We were no longer in love with each other and stayed together, because it was easier than admitting the truth.

I’m not the type of person who dwells on this sort of thing. I was incredibly upset when it happened. I was wreck. And If I’d still been in love with him, I’d probably still be a wreck now.  images (4)

Only I wasn’t. And, I’m perfectly happy moving on. But this seems to have divided my friends.

I have one friend who has always moved on quickly and admits that. But then I have another friend who thinks that I need to be single and have fun because I was in a relationship for so long.

I’m asking you guys what do you think? If it was you, what would you do?

I understand the whole ‘learn to love yourself’ and to enjoy your own company and, how it’s important to know yourself, before you embark on a relationship. I really do. But for everyone who knows me; I am who I am. I’ve not really changed since I was fifteen. I am comfortable being alone and, spending time by myself – I actually look forward to having an empty house!

I know people think that I’ve never been single as an adult, this is the time I need to take to enjoy myself. Now that would be great, if it weren’t for the fact that all my friends are either married or have boyfriends. Who am I suppose to enjoy being single with?? images (5)

I feel like I’ve been left in an awkward position. No matter how long I wait, the next person I am with will be labelled as the ‘rebound guy,’ (a notion that I don’t believe in, might I add). But If I wait too long, the right person for me might walk on by.

Life’s not easy. And moving on seems to get more and more complicated the older you get.

x

x

3 thoughts on “Moving on…

  1. I have always been like you. Although once was by myself only because I didn’t drink or go anywhere. That lasted 4 years. I was miserable. Then I met my husband when I decided to venture out just a little and everybody thought it was too soon. Lol. I believe you should follow your heart. Life is too short and don’t look back.

  2. ubenmaat says:

    At the end of the day, you’re the one who has to live with yourself. Your friends want to offer you advice because they’re your friends, but you are NOT them. What works for them will not necessarily work for you, regardless of which direction it takes (in this case, moving on quickly or staying single for a while). Do what feels comfortable. When you want to move on, you’ll know.

  3. I think you should do whatever feels natural for you, no matter what works for others. I have a natural tendency to dwell on things and over-analyze, but I try to just let go of that and work with things as they come. So perhaps try not to be concerned with it being too soon or too long to wait…life throws things (good things) at you when you least expect it, sometimes!

Leave a Reply

